Eric Walton Student Travel Award

The Eric Walton Student Travel Award is designed to encourage students interested in electromagnetics with an emphasis on antennas. It is open world-wide to undergraduate juniors and seniors as well as Masters and first year PhD students.

The Student Travel Award is named after Eric Walton, who passed away in 2020. Eric joined The Ohio State University in 1977, working at the OSU Electrical Engineering department's ElectroScience Lab, were he served as an instructor and mentor, guiding PhD students as they pursued research and worked to complete their degrees. He was a longtime member of the Antenna Measurement Techniques Association where he served in many key roles for the organization, including the one he was perhaps the most passionate about: as longtime Chairman of both the Student Paper Awards and the Student Travel Award Committees. In 2019, Eric was recognized as an Honorary Life Member, the highest honor AMTA can bestow. In July 2022, the AMTA Board of Directors by a unanimous vote, renamed the Award in his honor.

Students must show a demonstrated interest in electromagnetics and/or antennas and be able to attend the upcoming symposium. Award winners will receive travel funding up to $2,000 USD to attend the symposium as well as many other benefits. In order to apply, students must submit:

1) An essay about his/her interest in AMTA, antennas, radar, or/and electromagnetic related field, giving background and plans for the future
2) A resume which includes course listings with grades received
3) A letter of recommendation from an AMTA Senior Member or Fellow who is not a sitting Board Member or a member of the scholarship selection committee

For current deadlines, please go to the meeting page under the Events tab.

Want to donate to the scholarship fund? Please click here to complete the online donation form. AMTA is a 501(c)(3) organization recognized by the IRS, and therefore contributions made are eligible for a tax deduction. If you would like a letter of acknowledgement, please email Thank you for your contribution to the AMTA scholarship fund!

Questions? Contact the Scholarship Chairman at

Eric Walton Student Travel Awardees

Doctoral Travel Award

2023 - Henrik Jansen | RWTH Aachen University, Germany

2022 - Jorge Calatayud Maeso | Universidad Politécnica de Madrid, Spain

2021 - Florian Reher | RWTH Aachen University, Germany

2020 - Adrien Guth | RWTH Aachen University, Germany

2019 - Anna Polaczek | RWTH Aachen University, Germany

2018 - Rubén Tena Sánchez | Universidad Politécnica de Madrid, Spain

Masters Travel Award

2023 - Sigurd Sándor Petersen | Aalborg University, Denmark

2022 - You‐Hua Lin | National Taiwan University of Science and Technology, Taiwan

2021 - No scholarship given

2020 - No scholarship given

2019 - Carmen del P. Matos Berrio | Ohio State University, USA

2018 - Maranda D. Brock | Wright State University, USA

Undergrad Travel Award

2023 - No scholarship given

2022 - You‐Hua Lin | National Taiwan University of Science and Technology, Taiwan

2021 - Celia Fonta Romero | Universidad Politécnica de Madrid, Spain

2020 - No scholarship given

2019 - Dane Fairchild | San Diego State UniversitCarmen del P. Matos Berrio | Ohio State University, USA

2018 - No scholarship given
2024 Antenna Measurement Techniques Association. All Rights Reserved.



1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30