Awards & Recognition

Joe Pape Honorary Life Membership Award

The Joe Pape Honorary Membership Award is bestowed on an individual who has attained national or international recognition through their contributions to the electromagnetic community or related communities, and had had a direct or lasting impact on the Antenna Measurement Techniques Association. Candidates for Honorary Membership should meet the following minimum requirements:

  1. Past AMTA Distinguished Service Award recipient

  2. Past AMTA Distinguished Achievement Award recipient

Honorary membership recipients will be selected by the Awards Committee and submitted to the AMTA Board of Directors for final approval. Honorary members will receive lifetime AMTA membership with no annual dues and have full voting rights. Honorary membership will be awarded to individuals no more than once every five years.

2019Eric Walton

2017Mike Francis

2012Joe Pape


Distinguished Awards

Distinguished Achievement Award

Each year, AMTA recognizes individuals whose research or technical advances have contributed to the body of knowledge in antenna testing with its Distinguished Achievement Award.  Those who have been honored for Distinguished Achievement include:


2022Vince Rodriguez

2021Lydell Frasch

2020Steve Brumley

2019Brian Fischer

2018Peter J. Collins

2017Lars J. Foged

2016Chi-Chih Chen

2015Daniël Janse van Rensburg

2014Teh Hong Lee

2013Frank Jensen

2012Greg Hindman

2011Ron Wittmann

2010Michael Francis

2009Antti Raisanen

2008Eric Walton

2007Jiti Gupta

2006Brian Kent

2005Dietmar Fasold

2004Ivan LaHaie

2003Ray Howland

2002Jean-Charles Bolomy

2001David Kerns and Allen Newell

2000Yahya Rahmat-Samii & Joe Vokurka

1999Ed Joy

1998Leon Peters

1997Doren Hess

1996Walter D. Burnside

1995Dean Mensa

1994Edmond S. Gillespie

1993George Sinclair

1992Helmut Schrank

1991Jesper Hansen & Paul Wacker

1990William Emerson

1989Richard C. Johnson

1988J. Searcy Hollis


Distinguished Service Award

The organization also cites those members whose service to AMTA has had a profound and lasting effect with its Distinguished Service Award. Those honored for Distinguished Service include:


2022Peter J. Collins

2020Kim Hassett

2019John Estrada

2017Eric Walton

2016Jeff Guerrieri

2015Paul Kolesnikoff

2013Jeff Kemp

2011Larry Mandeville

2008Jeff Way

2007Janet O’Neil

2004Mike Francis

2002Shantnu Mishra

2000John Reddy

1998Joe Russum

1996Dick Flam

1994Joe Pape


Edmond S. Gillespie Fellow

In 2007, AMTA created the Edmond S. Gillespie Fellow membership grade to recognize those members for their outstanding and pioneering contributions to the theory, practice and art of antenna and RF measurements. Membership in the Fellows is to honor the memory of Dr. Edmond S. “Stan” Gillespie who made many contributions to the antenna community as a professor at California State University Northridge and his activities in both the AMTA and the IEEE Antennas and Propagation Society. 

The criteria for being named a Fellow are through contributions to AMTA in two of the following three areas:

  1. Significant technical contributions through publications

  2. Excellence in education in the field of antenna measurements,

  3. Dedication through active AMTA service. 

In addition, Fellow members are required to have held active membership in AMTA for 3 of the proceeding 10 years.

Nominations for AMTA Fellows can be made by any active AMTA member. Nominations will be evaluated by the AMTA Awards Committee. Following approval by the AMTA Awards Committee, the nominations will be submitted to the AMTA Board of Directors for final approval.  Nominations should have an extensive justification, including three letters of recommendation from current AMTA Fellows.  CLICK HERE to download Fellowship criteria and nomination form (Word Document).  Completed nomination forms can be emailed to

Click here for a list of current AMTA Fellows.


Fellow Emeritus

Starting in 2011, a new membership category called Fellow Emeritus was created for AMTA Fellows who are inactive for five or more years. Those with Fellow Emeritus status will remain AMTA members and have their annual membership dues waived. Current Fellow members who no longer anticipate attending the annual symposium may request to be promoted to Fellow Emeritus. Please send requests to

Click here for a list of current AMTA Fellow Emeritus Members.


Senior Member

Starting in 2007, AMTA established the category of Senior Member to recognize members who have actively factored in the success of the Antenna Measurement Techniques Association with outstanding and lengthy contributions.  These contributions can be in either the form of technical publications in the field of antenna measurements, or service on the AMTA Board of Directors or volunteer committees within AMTA.  In order to be eligible for Senior Membership, a member must have been active in the field for at least a period of 10 years; however, continuous AMTA membership throughout a 10-year period is not a requirement.  Nominations for Senior member status can be made to the AMTA awards committee by any current AMTA member.  Nominations will be evaluated by the committee and if approved, will be submitted to the AMTA Board of Directors for approval.   CLICK HERE to download Senior Member criteria and nomination form (Word Document).  Completed nomination forms can be emailed to

Click here for a list of current AMTA Senior members.

Starting in 2012, Senior members who are inactive for three or more years will lose their Senior membership status and must reapply after becoming active again. Members can maintain their active status by attending the annual symposium, or by authoring or co-authoring a paper that is presented at the annual symposium.

  • Member News

    Meet your AMTA 2023 Board of Directors

    We're please to announce the AMTA 2022 Best Paper Winners

    We are sad to share the news of the passing of Dr. Jesper Hansen. Please click here for his remembrance.

    If you don't recall your login credentials or AMTA number - PLEASE DO NOT CREATE A NEW PROFILE AS THIS CAUSES SEVERAL ISSUES. 

    • Forgot your password: Click the Reset Password link and a reset link will be sent to your email. For security purposes, AMTA staff cannot view passwords.
    • Don't remember your username? Please email and provide your name and contact information. We'll respond with your username within one business day. For most, your email will be your user ID.
    • Has your email changed? Please email with your name and new email. We'll update your existing record and respond within one business day.

    If your membership has lapsed, you may renew your membership here.

    ! Have you opted into the AMTA listserv? GDPR and CASL anti-spam legislation requires that an individual opt into marketing messages. To make sure you're included on all AMTA communications, log in and go to Profile < Settings < Email Settings < Confirm the setting is set to Yes.

  • AMTA News

    The AMTA Board of Directors would like to welcome the newest AMTA Node - the Australian Node!

  • Event News

    Announcing Fourth AMTA Webinar: Single-Cut Phaseless Near-Field Measurements (May 25, 2023 | 11:00 AM- Noon Eastern Time)

    Thank You to All Who Contributed to the Success of the AMTA 2023 Regional Event! [Read the wrap-up email]

    The AMTA 2023 Website is now LIVE! Click HERE to watch the promotional video and learn about next year exciting Symposium in Seattle.

    Beware Event & Hotel Phishing Schemes - CLICK HERE