NIST Awarded US Department of Commerce Silver Medal

AMTA Members Recognized for Engineering Accomplishments

AMTA has learned that Mike Francis, Jeff Guerrieri, Josh Gordon, David Novotny, and Alex Curtin of the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) located in Boulder, Colorado are the recipients of the US Department of Commerce Silver Medal for their work on developing the Configurable Robotic Millimeter-Wave Antenna Range (CROMMA). The award ceremony will take place in Washington, DC in September 2016.

The award is significant as gold and silver level medals must be approved by the Secretary of Commerce. This provides NIST (as well as the recipients) 'attention' at a high government level.

AMTA Board Advisor Mike Francis has enjoyed Department of Commerce recognition with his NIST colleagues over the years. Following is a list of medals that they have received, along with the dates, citations, and recipients.

- Sept. 2016, US Dept. of Commerce (USDOC) Silver Medal, recipients: Alexandra Curtin, Michael Francis, Joshua Gordon, Jeffrey Guerrieri, David Novotny; Citation: The group is recognized for the development of the "Configurable Robotic Millimeter-Wave Antenna" (CROMMA)
 Facility. Using commercially available robotics and position feedback from a laser tracking system, CROMMA meets the challenges for millimeter-wave antenna measurements. This system is designed for high-frequency applications from 100 500 GHz and is capable of planar, spherical, cylindrical near-field and extrapolation gain measurements.
- Dec. 2009, USDOC Bronze Medal, recipients: Michael Francis, Jeffrey Guerrieri, Athanasios
 Karygiannis, William MacGregor, Walter McDonough, David Novotny, Chad Snyder, Perry
 Wilson; Citation: For the analysis and certification of the US Passport Card architecture resulting
 in a mitigation of security threats and privacy concerns.
- Dec. 2009, USDOC Bronze Medal, recipients: Jeffrey Guerrieri, Katherine MacReynolds, and Douglas Tamura; Citation: Creating the world's first extrapolation range for measuring the onaxis gain and polarization of antennas in frequencies from 50 -110 GHz.
- **Nov. 2007**, USDOC Gold Medal, recipients: Michael Francis, Jeffrey Guerrieri, David Novotny, Perry Wilson, Joy Dunkers, Gale Holmes, Walter McDonough, Chad Snyder; Citation: For creating and implementing the rigorous testing protocols and benchmarks needed to ensure the security and integrity of the new US ePassport.

- Dec. 2005, USDOC Bronze Medal, recipients: David Novotny, Dennis Camell, Seturnino Canales, Chriss Grosvenor, Robert Johnk, Galen Koepke; Citation: For critical shielding evaluation of a space orbiter, providing NASA with data essential for improving Shuttle safety.
- **Dec. 1997**, USDOC Bronze Medal, recipients: Bradley Alpert, Michael Francis, Ronald Wittmann; Citation: For rapid development of an error-correction algorithm including essential proof of solution convergence, now used at NIST for antenna measurements.
- Oct. 1989, USDOC Silver Medal, recipients: Ramon Baird, Michael Francis, Douglas Kremer, Allen Newell, Andrew Repjar, Carl Stubenrauch; Citation: For developing and disseminating the nearfield scanning method of characterizing antenna performance so that it is the principal domestic method.

If you speak with Mike, he will be quick to emphasize that these medals were all team efforts, "All of the first three listed (the three most recent medals) have also involved AMTA Members Jeffrey Guerrieri and David Novotny. I think we have been the core of a pretty good team the last ten years or so. This upcoming Silver Medal will be David's and Jeff's fourth medal each. There are also other AMTA member names that you will recognize on the other medals: Ron Wittmann, Doug Kremer, and Allen Newell."

AMTA congratulates NIST on this latest US Department of Commerce Silver Medal Award!



UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT of COMMERCE



GOLD MEDAL AWARD

Presented to

CITATION:

For creating and implementing the rigorous testing protocols and benchmarks needed to ensure the security and integrity of the of new U.S. ePassport.

JEFFREY R. GUERRIERI DAVID R. NOVOTNY PERRY F. WILSON JOY P. DUNKERS GALE A. HOLMES WALTER G. McDONOUGH CHAD R. SNYDER MICHAEL H. FRANCIS

for Distinguished Achievement in the Federal Service

November 2007

Affective of Commerce